IQ challange

I used to say that whenever people heard my Southern accent, they always wanted to deduct 100 IQ points.
Jeff Foxworthy-comedian

I was reading an article http://motls.blogspot.com/2010/09/should-journalists-second-guess.html on whether or not journalist should take sides on climate disruption (the latest reincarnation after global warming and climate change) or simply report the facts from the news releases.

In the article, the writer stated that journalists have an average IQ of 112. If the overall average IQ is 100, would this extra 12 points make them superior enough for taking sides to have some merit? The writer went on to state the average reader also has an IQ of 112. The simple process of regular reading seemingly also raises the IQ.

The writer of this article happens to be a scientist, and he probably has an extremely high IQ, but I wondered where he found his information on journalist and reader IQs. I googled IQ, IQ rates and IQ averages. As usual, I received an information overload, but none of the responses answered my question on journalists and readers. The best site I could find http://careers.learnhub.com/lesson/6941-iq-ranges-of-occupations, listed the IQ ranges for different occupations, but did not include those contrary journalists and readers.

I guess my best bet is to leave this one alone. I do not want to know just how dumb I really am.

Published in: on September 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stlouisooz.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/iq-challange/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

